About Us

Conservation Authorities of Ontario

Throughout their history, Conservation Authorities have been positive forces in the conservation and management of water and other renewable natural resources in the Province of Ontario. The formation of Conservation Authorities in Ontario dates back to the middle part of the twentieth century. To date, 36 Conservation Authorities have been established in the Province of Ontario.

Conservation Authorities are autonomous corporate bodies established under the Conservation Authorities Act of Ontario. The Act embodies three basic principles of conservation and resource management:

  1. local initiative and involvement,
  2. a municipal-provincial partnership, and
  3. the total watershed as a management unit.

The object of any Conservation Authority is to establish and undertake, in the area over which it has jurisdiction, a program designed to further the conservation, restoration, development and management of renewable natural resources. Therefore, the greatest strength of Conservation Authorities is the emphasis on local involvement with the total watershed as the management unit.

Nickel District Conservation Authority (NDCA)

The Nickel District Conservation Authority was established in June, 1973. It is an amalgamation and expansion of two former Conservation Authorities, the Junction Creek Conservation Authority and the Whitson Valley Conservation Authority. It has jurisdiction over an area of 7,576 square kilometers. The watershed area is rectangular in shape. The north-south axis averages 124 kilometers and the east-west width is 61 kilometers.

The watershed area includes:
  1. the Vermilion River and all its tributaries,
  2. the part of the Wahnapitae River lying upstream of its confluence with Elbow Creek to the most northerly portion, and
  3. a portion of the watershed of the Whitefish River upstream of the outlet of Round Lake.

The Conservation Authority works in partnership with the Province of Ontario, through the Ministry of Natural Resources; and its member municipality, namely the City of Greater Sudbury.

The Conservation Authority is under the administration of a 9 member General Board. All members are appointed by the City of Greater Sudbury for four year terms. The Authority receives funding from a number of sources. The funding available varies according to the type of program and project.

Our Vision

"People working together to protect our watersheds."

Our Mission Statement

The Nickel District Conservation Authority, in collaboration with partners, stakeholders and citizens, leads the conservation, management and restoration or our watersheds.

Our Values

Accountability and Integrity; Community Needs and Commitment; Productivity and Excellence; Research and Innovation; Growth and Capacity.